About EGBL

President of EGBL, Vice President of EYBL IGO ZANDERS

EYBL was founded in 1998, two years later – year 2000 was special with the fact that exactly when the Olympic Games took place in Sydney, a new sports event was founded – European Girls Basketball League (EGBL) was established in September 19th.
During the first year the best teams from 6 countries took part in EGBL, the best girls teams from Poland (Sokolov Podlaski UKS Olimp, Koszalin UKS 16), Belarus (Minsk Horizont), Lithuania (BS Kaunas, BS Vilnius and BC Laisve), Estonia (Tartu Taba – 89), Russia (Moscow Spartak) and from Latvia SS Ridzene and BC Kolibri both from Riga participated in the first season EGBL.
In the 20th season, the best girls teams from 21 countries are participating – Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Estonia, Lithuania, Belarus, Netherlands, Poland, Ukraine, Russia, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Kazahstan, Georgia, Greece , Belgium, Bulgaria, Luxembourg, Italy, Norway and Latvia.
These 20 years have been an amazing experience for me, as the president of EGBL, also for coaches and girls who we have seen growing professionally – from kids to professional basketball players. Only together we can make this happen, so I would like to thank everyone who have helped to make these 20 basketball seasons at such high and professional level, also thank you to everyone who believes that with the strenght of this league we are making our European basketball world better.